Untitled Document
Plan Your Flight
Name *
Email *
From *
To *
One Way
Multi Journey
Depart Date*
Return Date*
Adult * Child (12-2) Infant (Under 2)
Additional Message
Code *
Domestic flights in Myanmar

View Profile
Asian Wings

View Profile
Air Mandalay

View Profile
Air Bagan

View Profile
Golden Myanmar Airlines

View Profile
Mann Yadanarpon Airlines

View Profile
Yangon Airways

View Profile

Myanmar History in Brief

Previously known (and often still referred to) as Burma, the area of Myanmar was populated by three waves of migration: First the Hmon people from what is now Cambodia, then by Mongol people from the eastern Himalayas, and finally by Thais from northern Thailand.

Unifying these disparate groups was a formidable task. This was first achieved by the Buddhist King Anawratha, who established the heart of a powerful Kingdom during the ninth century, known as the Bagan Era. The kingdom lasted 200 years until in 1287, hordes of Mongolian horsemen under Kublai Khan (Genghis Khan's grandson) bring the Bagan realm to a graceless and bloody end.

Following the demise of the Mongol empire at the end of the 14th century, Burma was carved up between warring tribes, with Siam (Thailand) the dominant force in the region, until the Tanugoo dynasty defeated Siam and reunified the country in the mid-16th century.

By the mid-18th century, a new dynasty (Konbaug Dynasty) was established under King Alaungpaya with its capital in Yangon. But the country once again disintegrated as the Hmon tribes broke away to create their own kingdoms.

In 1824, the British, driven by imperial ambitions and goaded by repeated border clashes went to war with Myanmar and by 1886 the entirely country had fallen under British colonial reign, as part of British India. In the following decades infrastructure development caused an unprecedented economical boom in Myanmar. From 1855 to 1930 the area of the Ayeyarwaddy delta used for cultivation of rice increased ten times to roughly 4 Million hectare. In 1937 Myanmar was granted separate dominion status and was allowed a constitution and a parliament of it's own.
During World War II, the Japanese expelled the British from Myanmar and attempted to win Myanmar political support by offering nominal independence under Japanese control.

The opposition to the Japanese, who were defeated in 1944, was the beginning of the post-war independence movement led by Aung San. In 1947 Aung San's AntiFascist People's Freedom League won a large majority in parliament elections, but soon after Aung San and five of his closest advisors were assassinated by pre-war Prime Minister U Saw.

In 1948, Myanmar formally gained its independence. U Nu became the first Prime Minister of the new state. But the state quickly began to disintegrate as hill tribes, communists, Muslims and Mons all revolted.

A civil war between Karen and the Burmese army kept smoldering until in 1951, the government under U Nu succeeds in gaining some appearance of control over the country by military means.
By 1958 internal conflicts within the government caused PM U Nu to order the Minister of Defense and Chief of the General Staff for the army, General Ne Win, to create a temporary military government.

In 1962, Ne Win and a group of Generals seize political power in a coup d'état. Numerous politicians and delegates of the ethnic minorities were arrested. All parliamentary institutions were dissolved and replaced by a 'revolutionary council' consisting of 17 members. The military government then published a communiqué entitled The Burmese Way To Socialism in which Myanmar is prescribed a cocktail of Marxism and Buddhism as state philosophy.
In 1972 Ne Win and 20 of his followers from the Burmese army resign from their military posts and formed a civilian government.

On January 3, 1974, the country was re-christened 'Socialist Republic of the Union of Burma' and a new constitution was validated. The Burma Socialist Program Party, formerly founded by Ne Win, was admitted as the sole political party. Party Chief Ne Win took the newly created post of Head of the state council and became President.

In 1981 Ne Win resigned as the President of State, but remained at the head of the Burma Socialist Program Party ... and he remains the man pulling the strings from the background.

In 1988 the name 'Myanmar' was officially recognized as the countries new name in replacement of Burma.

In July 1997, Myanmar was admitted to full membership of the Association of South-East Asian Nations (ASEAN).